Great Cakes Soapworks Challenge- Soap Comb

gcc_merrydaysoaps

This is my first time participating in Amy Warden’s Soap Challenge. Woohoo! I’m excited!

soap_comb

The only requirement was to use a soap comb while making soap! After reading and watching Amy Warden’s tutorial, I decided that I was going to, with squeeze bottles, make a freeform design with lines and dots. Then, my plan was to use the soap comb to bring it all together. I wanted each bar to have a unique design.

 

PREP

First, I made a soap recipe that included 60% olive oil to be sure I had plenty of time to swirl/design. The rest included coconut oil, palm oil (sustainable), avocado oil, apricot oil, and a tiny bit of castor oil. This is by far the slowest recipe I’ve ever made! Well, guess it’s not saying much since I’m very new to cold process (although I’ve been making melt and pour for years).

 

Bastille recipe

Then I gathered some squeeze bottles. Check-out the 3-hole bottles I found!

squeezebottles

Next, I made my soap combs- one with the skewers a few millimeters apart and the other about an inch apart.soap comb
(However, I ended up using only the small comb.)

Finally, I decided on the following colorants:
Pink (rose clay)
Black (activated charcoal)
White (titanium dioxide)
Blue (liquid pigment)

 

SOAP-MAKING

So here’s how I started off!
1. I used the 3-hole squeeze bottles to make the black and white lines.Soap swirl step 1

2. Then, with the regular, one-hole bottle, I added some abstract flowers with some splatter/dots along with pink lines.soap swirl step 2

3. This is where the soap comb was incorporated (pictures below). Most of the time, I combed in a downward motion. But also, I went sideways and made a few turning strokes. Then, used a single skewer to touch-up and give certain areas more shape…especially the flowers.
Soap swirl close-upSoap swirl step 3

I absolutely loved every second of this project! Thanks to Amy for hosting such a wonderful, exciting challenge. This really gives us soapers a chance to connect with others as well as be creative within the boundaries. And boundaries, I feel, make us even more creative. 🙂

About merrydaysoaps

musician & soapmaker carolinelufkin.com etsy.com/shop/merrydayshop

14 responses to “Great Cakes Soapworks Challenge- Soap Comb

  1. I love your free-form design!! It’s definitely different from everyone else’s and it’s something I never would have thought of! Way to think outside the box! 🙂

  2. A truly beautiful design 🙂

  3. Your soap is so pretty! The colors are beautiful and the design! I love the flowers and how you combined the different techniques.

  4. I love the design :0) so creative and lovely design! and the 3-hole bottles are amazing for try different patterns … and do it quickly … very interesting bottle .. if you can share with me, where did you find it ?

  5. I like the flower added to your soap, great idea. Also like your choice of colors.

  6. So much fun! Beautiful soaps! Very unique design. 🙂

  7. Sue

    Beautiful and so creative! It turned out lovely! Love the three hole squeeze bottle 🙂

Leave a Reply

